close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Children


Storytimes

Storytimes provide an important role in helping your child get ready to read. You are your child's first teacher, and home is where your child begins to learn. The public library provides resources to help you talk, sing, read, write and play with your child through the Every Child Ready to Read initiative.


School Textbooks 

Copies of textbooks used at Ridge Lawn, Ridge Central, Finley Junior High, and District 122 can be used in the library.


1,000 Books Before Kindergarten 

Pick up a folder and take the 1,000 Books Before Kindergarten challenge! After each 100 books read, pick up a prize for you and your child. 


  • Picture 1
  • Picture 2
  • Picture 3
  • Picture 4
leftright

Upcoming Events for Children

Sat, Jan 18, 10:00am - 11:00am

Mon, Jan 20, 4:00pm - 4:45pm
Meeting Room

Tue, Jan 21, 11:30am - 12:00pm

Tue, Jan 21, 6:00pm - 7:00pm

Wed, Jan 22, 6:30pm - 7:15pm

Thu, Jan 23, 10:00am - 10:30am

Thu, Jan 23, 4:00pm - 7:00pm

Thu, Jan 23, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Meeting Room

Sat, Jan 25, 10:00am - 11:00am

Mon, Jan 27, 4:00pm - 4:45pm
Meeting Room

Tue, Jan 28, 11:30am - 12:00pm

Tue, Jan 28, 6:00pm - 7:00pm

Wed, Jan 29, 1:00pm - 3:30pm

Wed, Jan 29, 6:30pm - 7:15pm

Thu, Jan 30, 10:00am - 10:30am

Thu, Jan 30, 4:00pm - 7:00pm

Sat, Feb 01, 10:00am - 11:00am

Mon, Feb 03, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Meeting Room

Tue, Feb 04, 11:30am - 12:00pm

Tue, Feb 04, 6:00pm - 7:00pm

Wed, Feb 05, 6:30pm - 7:15pm

Thu, Feb 06, 10:00am - 10:30am

Thu, Feb 06, 4:00pm - 7:00pm

Fri, Feb 07, 10:00am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Sat, Feb 08, 10:00am - 11:00am

Mon, Feb 10, 4:00pm - 4:45pm
Meeting Room

Tue, Feb 11, 11:30am - 12:00pm

Tue, Feb 11, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Meeting Room

Tue, Feb 11, 6:00pm - 7:00pm

Wed, Feb 12, 6:30pm - 7:15pm

Thu, Feb 13, 10:00am - 10:30am

Thu, Feb 13, 4:00pm - 7:00pm

Sat, Feb 15, 10:00am - 11:00am


Online Resources for Children

Check out these sites for homework help, test prep tools, and gaming.

  • Fall Reading
NEW KIDS BOOKS
  • Week of December 9
    • Captain Underpants and the terrifying return of Tippy Tinkletrousers
    • Dog man : fetch-22
    • Woodstock's Sunny Day
    • Telling time
    • Freedom Soup
    • I Love You, Fred
    • Into the blizzard : heroism at sea during the great blizzard of 1978
    • The unofficial guide to Universal Orlando, 2020
2020 Caudill Award Books
  • 2020 Caudill Award Books
    • Serafina and the Black Cloak
    • Scythe
    • Insignificant Events in the Life of a Cactus
    • The Epic Fail of Arturo Zamora
    • The Prince and the Dressmaker
    • The Truth as Told by Mason Buttle
    • Space Case
    • Slider
    • The Night Diary
    • Restart
    • The Stars Beneath Our Feet
    • The First Rule of Punk
    • 42 is Not Just a Number : The Odyssey of Jackie Robinson, American Hero
    • As Brave As You
    • Fred Korematsu Speaks Up
    • The Blackthorn Key
    • Wild Bird
    • Piecing Me Together
2020 Bluestem Award Books
  • 2020 Bluestem Award Books
    • The Bad Guys
    • Beauty and the Beak
    • Between the Lines: How Earnie Barns Went from the Football Field to the Art Gallery
    • A Boy Called Bat
    • Dazzle Ships: World War I and the Art of Confusion
    • Grace Hopper, Queen of Computer Code
    • The Great Tree House War
    • Insignificant Events in the Life of a Cactus
    • Last Kids on Earth
    • Lesser Spotted Animals: The Coolest Creatures You've Never Heard of
    • Macy McMillan and the Rainbow Goddess
    • Not So Different: What You Really Want To Ask About Having a Disability
    • One dead spy : the life, times, and last words of Nathan Hale, America's most famous spy
    • Real Friends
    • Wet Cement: a Mix of Concrete Poems
    • Wishtree
    • You Go First